Nizam's Institute of Medical Sciences

(A University Established Under State Act)

Hyderabad - 500082, Telangana, India


The Department of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care at Nizam’s Institute of Medical Sciences, Hyderabad,was started on October 16th, 1986 under the dynamic leadership of Dr. Manimala Rao Madam.  With addition of Dr.Y Rajender , Dr.Gopinath Ramachandran, Dr.Mantha Srinivas, Dr.Dilip Kumar Kulkarni and Dr.Suhasini T, there was considerable growth and expansion of the department. These stalwart anaesthesiologists took the practice, training and research in the subspecialities of Cardiac anaesthesia, Neuro anaesthesia, Critical care and Transplantation Anaesthesia to great heights. NIMS Anaesthesiology Department was the first government institute in the state to start respiratory intensive care unit (RICU). The MD Postgraduate Course in Anaesthesiology was started in 1990 with 2 PG seats per year.  The Department also pioneered Postdoctoral Certificate Courses and trained many anaesthesiologists in the superspecialities of Cardiac anaesthesia, Neuro anaesthesia and Critical care from 1990 to upto 2010. The PG Diploma training courses in Anaesthesia and Respiratory Technology were started 1987 and 1990 respectively.

In the last two decades the department has seen progress on many fronts. In 2006, the units were increased from one to three. Many talented and dedicated anaesthesiologists were inducted. Presently, there are 21 faculty and 35 senior residents rendering services in different areas of the subject. The Department provides care for more than 20000 surgeries annually which include high risk and critically ill patients, emergency and non operating room procedures like MRI, Cardiac Catheterization, Interventional Radiology, GI Endoscopy, Endobronchoscopic Ultrasound, and Pain procedures. The postgraduate seats have been increased to 4 per year in 2003, 7 per year in 2014, 15 per year in 2017 and since 2018, the department is training 21 PGs per year. There are around 15 permanent and around 50 contractual technical staff  employed. The  BSc Anaesthesia Technology and Respiratory Technology courses were started in 2021 with an intake of 10 students per year each.

Under the headship of Dr Padmaja Durga, the Department has acquired many state of art facilities including ICU ventilators, high end monitors, ultrasound machines, anaesthesia drug delivery systems, ECMO, and other equipment to cater to care of patients. With the establishment of Advanced Critical Care Unit in 2022 in addition to the existing RICU, the number of ICU beds have increased to 20. The department is the nodal centre for the Electronic-ICU service which provides guidance in the management of critically ill patients in remote areas since 2021.

The department has a fully equipped library providing access to textbooks and journals about anaesthesiology, intensive care, and pain management. The teaching facilities have been upgraded from the simple projector to computerization and digital screens. The classroom has a seating capacity of more than 100 persons. The academic programme includes three weekly classes including seminars, case discussions, and a journal club with regular exam modules. Induction programme for the new entrants to speciality of anaesthesia, NOVICE is being conducted every year. Workshops, CMEs and  teaching programmes in CPR, USRA, Airway and Hemodynamic management are regularly conducted for the PG, nursing and paramedical students . The Department is in the process of starting DM Superspeciality courses in Critical Care and Neuroanaesthesia and Fellowships in Cardiac anaesthesia, Onco anaesthesia and Pain Medicine.



Head of the Department


Professor Manimala Rao


Professor Gopinath Ramachandran

2019- 2023

Professor Padmaja Durga

2023- till date

Professor Nirmala Jonnavithula

Teaching / Training Programme

Academic Activities, please mention the frequency with which each activity is held (Department & Hospital)

  1. Case Presentation   2 per week
  2. Journal Club              1 per week
  3. Seminar                      1 per week
  4. Subject Review        1 per week
  5. Death Review meeting -  once in two weeks
  6. Clinical Pathological conference - once in two weeks
  7. Lectures (separately held for post graduate students)
  8. Guest lectures       -        2 to 4 per year
  9. Video film             -        whenever required
  10. Others

The PG students are sent to Gandhi General Hospital, Govt.ENT Hospital, Sarojini Devi Eye Hospital and Niloufer Hospital (Institute of Maternal and Child care) for the postings in the following specialities

  1. District Rural Program for 3 months
  2. Obstetrics & Gynecology (OBG) for 4 months
  3. Labour analgesia to Fernandes Hospital
  4. Pediatric surgery for 1 month
  5. ENT, Ophthalmology for 1 month
  6. Log book of PG students:
  7. Whether PG students participate in UG teaching or not?
  8. Thesis / Dissertation:Last date by which thesis plan is to be submitted – 6 months from date of joining. Authority who evaluates and accepts thesis plan – Ethical Committee. Last date by which thesis is to be submitted for evaluation – six months before the final examination. Thesis examiners: Same set of examiners come for final clinical practical examination and evaluation of thesis (as per MCI norms)
Contact Us

Punjagutta, Hyderabad, Telangana, India

Phone No. +91-40-23489000,+91-40-23396552

Phone No. +91-40-23489244,+91-40-23489245

Pin Code: 500082


Webportal Visitor's:


Copyright © 2014 NIMS All rights reserved. | NIMS Disclaimer | Designed & Developed By C-DAC - Noida | Last Updated: 19-Jul-2024 06:43:46